Canon IP4500 prints dark grey instead of black on normal paper

Nienke

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Dear all,

This is my first time on the forum, so thanks in advance for all the help.
I recently bought a Canon IP4500 so I could finally make proper prints at home.
I am often printing pages which combine text and images on recycled paper.
I choose the normal paper print setting. The printed blacks are very muted in this case, dark grey actually.
When I choose the photopaper setting and use the black dye, the ink is better in black but it's running on the recycled paper.
I also have an old HP 3320 which does print true black on recycled paper without problems, but this printer is no good when it comes to images.
I thought if I invest in this printer, my printing life would be easier, but now I'm only frustrated as printed text actually looks much better on the old printer but images don't and they are together in my documents.

Is there a way to get the pigment black to print true black instead of dark grey? Or to print the black dye onto normal, recycled, paper, without running? Or, to put it in other words, is there a way to get my canon ip4500 to print black text as well as my old hp3320?

Once again, thanks in advance!

Kind regards,
Nienke

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530
Since you are in to using recycled paper, you're probably also saving paper by printing in duplex mode. This will print lighter in order to prevent show-through, which is when you can see the black on the other side of the paper from showing through on the side that you are looking at. See this post.

Just in case this is not the explanation, you need to provide more information on how exactly you are printing: what settings are you using, etc. And it would be good to do a nozzle check and make sure all the grid lines are present for the pigment black.

Nienke

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score